top of page

International (food) Studies

One of my hobbies is to try new foods from all around, as I love to learn about the world (even though I am not traveling).

I try things that mostly do not have an English or American translation, so it’s close to being authentic. And being in the U.S., it's about foods that most people aren't familiar with already, not something like chow mein; I want to give light to minorities/POC, and their usual home fare.

I think of it as a type of International (food) Studies.*

This is going to be a regular part/recurring theme of the blog, and you can do it, too!

How? At least once a month 1. go to an ethnic market, 2. enclave,

3. try a new food,

a. cooking at home, b. at a restaurant, and/or c. at a friend's house, etc.

I say once a month is easy, and there have been times when I’ve done most. (Mind you, I live in CA.)

Yes, I have made it sound so official. To formalize and feel the need to stick to it. It would be awesome if I could actually major in this and earn $$ for it 😄. Dreamy. I guess it’s just another thing for my personal growth, for now.

Of course, it is free of animals as products. The eats should be naturally vegan, or veganized (by me, I would call this fusion.).

So, are you up for this as well?

(Tag/message me when you do! :))

Spice House haul

A small haul from an Indian grocery store.

Dosa mixes are even better than pancake mixes, in price and nutrition.

I am going to try enough recipes that by 2020 my culinary goal is that anything I make tastes good 🤗 Along with knowing the foundations of foods’ tastes and spices in the major regions in the world. Ask me what I have tried. Send me your requests!

*The food may not all come from overseas, but the methods it is prepared is.

About Jia Hui: approximately trilingual (polyglot wannabe), 🌱vegan foodie, (pre-)urban enthusiast, 1.5 generation Chinese-Californian (Baydestrian) who has almost always lived in a majority-POC/immigrant district near a POC-owned grocery (with bilingual ads).

As of early 2018, I have not been outside of glorious California in 3+ years. 😄 (One reason is because I need to earn and save up to afford a vegan vacation.)

P.S. I admit my bias for Middle Eastern/South Asian (ME/SA) and Mediterrranean foods. The spices and flavors (and cultures, but that’s another topic) are really intriguing and delicious. Indian cuisine is quite veg-friendly and the argument that the Mediterranean diet is ideal with its freshness, variety, etc. is a good one. ☺️ Alas, I live in CA which has a Mediterranean climate. (Fusion to come, you know it.)

P.P.S. I have changed fonts. This one is called Amiri. :) Also, another glitch: this font size is not supposed to bigger than above.





Tags:

bottom of page