top of page

It's more expensive to be an eco-vegan

I was an environmentalist before I was vegan. I've cared about sustainability since I was young (growing up in SF and California's influence). I sort my trash and try to recycle and the other r's.

Plastic is despicable. But I'm not plastic-free.

I had this new year's resolution in 2017 that I lost track of and fell off the wagon: being zero waste.

Here it is:

It's hard. It's hard when the automatic is plastic packaging. It's hard when we're in a rush. It's hard because it's not convenient.

It's also an issue of accessibility. It can be expensive and extra time-consuming. And time and money is valued, since I'm a student, unlike one who makes a living on their own with a decent income.

In Kamikatsu*, Japan, there are over 30 recycling categories, where the waste is re-used, composted, (or incinerated). The town is, in effect, zero-waste. And we just don't have that yet, here.

Investing in the long term is an argument that vegan and zero waste sides use.

However, changing to a vegan diet is much more simple. I don't call people who live in homes with non-vegan things not vegan, if they went vegan for animal rights and abstain from animal-based products as much as possible, they are vegan.

It's good to be aware.

*Source: https://www.mindbodygreen.com/0-29630/this-will-be-the-first-trashfree-community-in-the-world-lets-take-a-peek.html

Orig. 1- Pub. 12/2018

bottom of page