top of page

Living as the Only Vegan in the Household

Vegans tend to be sensitive people. I am one.  

We probably have this vision of a better world, and are repeatedly reminded of how speciesist/carnist/not-vegan society is. 

For almost all of my veg life, I have shared living in a carnist household. I move around a lot, and have had my times being upset.

You probably can’t fire who you live with, though. 

So here are my guidelines: 


Don’t invite people over, unless you and your guests are comfortable enough. And you plan what vegan-friendly things will be eaten and done. 


Try to separate kitchen work and tools. In college I got my own set of things that includes: a pot, pan, knife, cutting board, bowls 


Preferably, these are Family-size/shared: rice cooker, blender, (veganizable/cruelty-free) dish soap, detergent, and the stove and oven, of course (hopefully they work).


Bulk and/or slow cook (pot, rice cooker, etc.)

Take caution in using the kitchen. 


Communicate your boundaries. Reason. (I don’t mind having to keep saying the word vegan 😅)


Make things to share. Offer your delicious food. Work together, even. 


Be grateful. You can do it! You can be vegan! Enjoy. 

This is what I can say. Follow my advice, or don’t, don’t live with non-veg people. 

Have your space and sense of sanctuary in and out of the home. 

Really, if anything here helps you, do say.

Vegans also tend to be strong and resilient people. I am one.  

bottom of page